Apache not starting – Win32: Apache2 service terminated with service-specific error 1 (0x1)

08Oct07

This usually happens when you do a fresh install of your system and reinstall LAMP.. then you copy/paste your backup configuration files. If you use vhosts (virtual hosts) you may get this error in Event viewer.

It happens because apache tries to access a file in a folder which doesn’t exists. For example,i had setup a virtual host with a custom error log files in a new folder called _logs. After I copied the backup site in the new location I thought I don’t need anymore the old log files so I deleted the whole _logs directory. After a restart I noticed apache wasn’t starting anymore.

61 Responses to “Apache not starting – Win32: Apache2 service terminated with service-specific error 1 (0x1)”

  1. 1 Anonymous

    This error may also be caused by trying to load a dynamic shared object that has a problem…

  2. 2 AnotherAnonymous

    Also happens if another application is using port 80, eg. Skype
    (Tools, Options, Advanced, Connection: Uncheck “Use port 80 and 443 as alternatives for incoming connections”).

    • 3 YetAnotherAnon

      [quote]
      Also happens if another application is using port 80, eg. Skype
      (Tools, Options, Advanced, Connection: Uncheck “Use port 80 and 443 as alternatives for incoming connections”).
      [/quote]

      w00t! there it is!

    • 5 matija kancijan

      that solved it, thanks!

    • 6 Tomas Teicher

      great! that was the problem

    • 7 Bandi

      From hungary.
      That was the problem at me too.
      Thanks.

      • I love how you attempt to justify your being an apologist for a brutal theocratic terror supporting regime by comparing them to Texas. I think you will find there was a few differences between Texas and Afghanistan under the Taliban such as the US has a constitution guarranteeing certain key personal liberties like freedom of speech and religion. But who cares about those things so long as you are anitpim-erialistic quasi-leftist eh?

      • comentou em 1 de julho de 2009 às 12:41. Já usei manipulados. Mas gosto mais de ser meais independente. Gosto de achar meus produtos em qualquer lugar. Minha médica aprovou cada produto que eu uso. Ela não trabalha estritamente com manipulados. Quando preciso de algum tratamento mais específico com ácidos ou coisa parecida então vemos se é melhor comprar o de laboratório farmacêutico ou mandar manipular. Em geral prefiro os de laboratórios.Bjsss!!!!

    • That solved my problem too. Had to quit skype. This problem happened after installing Zend server so two apache servers are now installed

  3. I had this problem too. So I reported to my boss (who’s is Systems Engineer) and he fixed this problem changing the port 80 to another. This por 80 was used for another aplication, that was the origin of the problem.

  4. 13 Passenger

    [quote]
    AnotherAnonymous on April 28, 2008 said:

    Also happens if another application is using port 80, eg. Skype
    (Tools, Options, Advanced, Connection: Uncheck “Use port 80 and 443 as alternatives for incoming connections”).
    [/quote]

    thanks man, it worked.

  5. 14 3picFail

    A program that I didn’t expect that can use port 80 and cuase this error is teamviewer. To avoid this start teamviewer after apache.

  6. 15 NoOneInParticular

    It could also be caused by some misspelling in your httpd.conf. Happened to me. Check with httpd -t.

  7. 17 Georgi

    Thanks guys, i hope it might me useful.. I’report later, thnks again!

  8. 18 Rob

    i got the same error message, it went away once I stopped the IIS service!

  9. Howdy! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the fantastic work!

  10. 21 Nukeface

    Can also be IIS server. I use multiple development scenarios (one for work, one for “recreation” 😉 ). For work I need IIS, at home I use Apache.

    To stop IIS server, run Command Prompt as admin, enter “iisreset /stop”, then try Apache again…

  11. Hi there very nice site!! Guy .. Excellent .
    . Superb .. I’ll bookmark your site and take the feeds also? I am glad to seek out numerous useful info here within the put up, we want develop extra techniques in this regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

    • 23 Budd

      The puechasrs I make are entirely based on these articles.

    • I cling on to listening to the newscast lecture about getting free online grant applications so I have been looking around for the most excellent site to get one. Could you tell me please, where could i find some?

  12. I simply could not go away your web site before suggesting
    that I actually enjoyed the standard info a person
    supply on your visitors? Is gonna be back ceaselessly to inspect new
    posts

  13. Eva is fond of having healthy snacks but she has a weakness
    for one sinful snack in the form of chocolate chip
    cookies which she has been eating since she was a child and still does.
    The top nutritionist in the U. You can probably already see
    how confusing and time consuming it would be to carry on this
    kind of diet.

    • Ad anonym:Je tÅ™eba ale také vidÄ›t jinou vÄ›c, že na západÄ› se platí Å¡kolné a fakulta tak funguje na troÅ¡ičku jiných ekoknmicoých principech a je tudíž schopna zaplatit kvalitní personál…

    • Phil%A %B %e%q, %YHi JaniceI’ve had a small academy now for a couple of years. I´m still autonomo and probably will be for some time. I was wondering if you knew of any association(s) which bring academy owners together to share experiences and support?

  14. With havin so much written content do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright violation?
    My site has a lot of completely unique content I’ve either written myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping it
    up all over the internet without my authorization. Do you know any methods to help reduce content from being stolen?
    I’d certainly appreciate it.

  15. I do not leave a bunch of remarks, but i did some searching and wound up here Apache not starting – Win32: Apache2
    service terminated with service-specific error 1
    (01) | Solutions for net headaches. And I actually do have a
    couple of questions for you if you don’t mind. Could it be just me or does it seem
    like a few of the remarks look like they are left by brain dead
    people? 😛 And, if you are writing on other online sites, I’d like to follow anything fresh you have to
    post. Would you make a list of every one of
    all your communal pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed,
    or linkedin profile?

  16. 31 Tonnie

    i have tried all possible options, skype,teamviewer,IIS,changing port 80 to 81, but still error is “review system event log,non microsoft program, service specific error code 1”

  17. I like the helpful info you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your blog and check again here frequently.
    I am quite certain I’ll learn many new stuff right here!
    Good luck for the next!

  18. I think this is one of the most important info for me.
    And i am glad reading your article. But should remark on few general things,
    The web site style is perfect, the articles is really great :
    D. Good job, cheers

  19. Hello, I enjoy reading through your article post. I wanted to
    write a little comment to support you.

  20. What’s up to every one, as I am really keen of reading this weblog’s post to be updated regularly.

    It carries pleasant information.

  21. Hmm it seems like your blog ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it
    up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything.

    Do you have any recommendations for newbie blog writers?
    I’d really appreciate it.

  22. It’s an amazing post for all the internet viewers;
    they will obtain advantage from it I am sure.

  23. I’m not sure exactly why but this weblog is loading very slow for me.
    Is anyone else having this problem or is it a problem on my end?
    I’ll check back later on and see if the problem still exists.

  24. of course like your web site but you need to take a look at the spelling on quite a few of your posts.
    Many of them are rife with spelling problems and I in finding it very
    bothersome to inform the reality nevertheless I will certainly come back again.

  25. always i used to read smaller content which as well clear their motive, and that
    is also happening with this post which I am reading
    here.

  26. Hello There. I discovered your blog the usage of msn. That is a
    very smartly written article. I will make sure to bookmark it
    and come back to read extra of your helpful info. Thank you for
    the post. I’ll certainly return.

  27. I’m no longer certain the place you are getting your information, however good topic.
    I needs to spend some time studying more or figuring out more.
    Thank you for excellent info I used to be looking for this info for my
    mission.

  28. It’s going to be ending of mine day, however before end I am
    reading this impressive article to improve my know-how.

  29. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital to assert that
    I get actually enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing
    to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

  30. Hey! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems with hackers?

    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing months of hard
    work due to no backup. Do you have any methods to prevent hackers?

  31. It’s difficult to find knowledgeable people
    in this particular subject, but you sound like you know what you’re talking about!
    Thanks

  32. It’s amazing for me to have a website, which is good in favor of my knowledge.

    thanks admin

  33. Thank you for any other informative website.

    The place else may I am getting that kind of
    info written in such an ideal method? I’ve a mission that I am simply now operating on, and I have been on the glance out for such info.

  34. at last aangirfan is getting back to normal after the rubbish of the last few days.remember that racial hatred is the tool devised and controlled by goeotnmenr,lovk at churchill, he let 5 million indians starve to death while feeding russia in W W II who were more a danger to us than the germans.( internal intelfiles )Peterwilson

  35. parabens! eu gosto de viajar com voces, e bom saber que estao tentando melhorar seus serviços e dar um pouco mais de conforto e espaço. um abraço a todos que fazem parte desta empresa.

  36. Może tak, a może nie. Nie ma tego w mediach “głównego nurtu” , ale narasta… Opozycja parlamentarna oraz zbliżone do niej Å›rodowiska starajÄ… siÄ™ przejąć nad tym kontrolÄ™. Bezskutecznie.ChodziÅ‚o mi tylko o to, że sÄ… tacy, którzy dziaÅ‚ajÄ… poza blogosferÄ…. Czy to przyniesie “ZwyciÄ™stwo”? Trudno powiedzieć. Ale z każdym rokiem jest nas 10 razy wiÄ™cej… W caÅ‚ej Polsce.


  1. 1 [Repack] Apache keeps closing
  2. 2 Not A Virus Downloader Win32 Agent.xdm - Remove Spyware, Malware and Viruses
  3. 3 Fix Apache Error Documentroot Must Be A Directory Errors - Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8
  4. 4 Fix Apache Error To Start Errors - Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8
  5. 5 Fix Apache Error 1 Errors - Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8
  6. 6 Fix Apache Error Code 1 Windows Errors - Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8
  7. 7 How To Fix Error Access Violation At Program Terminated in Windows
  8. 8 How To Fix Clear Apache Error Log in Windows
  9. 9 Fix Services Error 1053 When Starting A Service

Leave a Reply

